A Lovely Day

So I had some happy news today.  The Awful Colleague is leaving!!!  This is a huge weight off my mind.  She isn’t even back from maternity leave yet and people have been dreading her return.  She’ll be back in May for a couple of months max and she’ll be off – hurrah!

Secondly my bathroom (which is my current pride and joy) will be finished today.  We have two, young enough-to-drive but borderline old enough-to-drink, lads working on it.  They’ve had some difficulties because my husband is really cheeky and keeps asking them to do extra jobs which weren’t on the list.  I’m really hoping they won’t bill us for them but it’s totally fair enough if they do.  Anyway, to thank them my husband bought them a case of 18 cans of lager (Stella: wife-beater’s lager!).  I bought them a box of Thorntons chocolates.  Then, when pressed one of them admitted he doesn’t drink lager so then I went to buy Jack Daniels and the medium-sized bottle was cheaper than the small one.  Now my husband thinks we should give them the lot!  It’s a family business and their dad is overseeing them (basically on the phone at every step) so I don’t feel it’s responsible to give two young lads all that alcohol.  It was meant to be a token gesture but now it’s escalated thanks to The Boy.  You can totally see how we’re going to parent one day!  Polar opposites . . .

In other news my story was published on Tommys’ website last week.  Here it is:

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Lovely Day”

Leave a Reply

